Rising Stars

Dydd Sadwrn 28 Hydref / Saturday 28 October
5:00-7:15 Theatr Canolfan y Celfyddydau / Aberystwyth Arts Centre Theatre £8/6

Archebwch Ar-lein / Book Online

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

English and Creative Writing Society Student Showcase
The English and Creative Writing Society is an enthusiastic gathering of students at Aberystwyth University who enjoy and promote all things literary. We host a range of inclusive events throughout the year; from writer’s talks to poetry slams which aims to inspire people through their academic career.

Katherine Stansfield grew up on Bodmin Moor in Cornwall. She moved to Wales in 2002 to study at Aberystwyth University where she worked as a lecturer in Creative Writing for several years. She now teaches for the Open University and the School of Continuing and Professional Education at Cardiff University. She works as a mentor for Literature Wales, and from September 2017 she will be the new Royal Literary Fund Fellow at Cardiff University. She is a poet and fiction writer, represented by Sam Copeland at Rogers, Coleridge and White Literary Agency. Her new novel Falling Creatures, based on a real life murder on Bodmin Moor in 1844, is out now with Allison & Busby. The sequel, The Magpie Tree, will be published in March 2018. Her debut The Visitor was published by Parthian in 2013. It went on to win the fiction prize at the 2014 Holyer an Gof awards. Playing House, a poetry collection, was published by Seren in 2014. It includes ‘Canada’, Poem of the Week in The Guardian online. Katherine is currently completing a second collection of poetry, and was awarded a writer’s bursary from Literature Wales to support the work.


David Towsey is a graduate of the Creative Writing programmes at Bath Spa University and Aberystwyth University. Born in Dorset, he now lives in Cardiff with his girlfriend and their growing board game collection. His first novel, Your Brother’s Blood, was published in September 2013 UK (December 2015 US) by Quercus’ imprint Jo Fletcher Books. The rest of the The Walkin’ Trilogy followed in 2014 and 2015. His short fiction has appeared in numerous markets, links to some of which are available on this site. He has reviewed for critical journals, including New Welsh Review and the BSFA’s Vector.


Tyler Keevil grew up in Vancouver and in his mid-twenties moved to Wales. He is the author of several books and his short fiction has appeared in a wide range of magazines and anthologies, including New Welsh ReviewPrairie Fire, and PRISM: International. He has received a number of awards for his work, most notably The Missouri Review’s Jeffrey E. Smith Editors’ Prize, the Wales Book of the Year People’s Prize, and the Writers’ Trust of Canada / McClelland and Stewart Journey Prize. Among other things, he has worked as a landscaper, tree planter, and ice barge deckhand; he is now a Lecturer in Creative Writing at Cardiff University. His new novel, No Good Brother, will be published by The Borough Press / HarperCollins in 2018.